Woo Hoo, Excited for the Weekend to come!

This has been a very exciting past few days.  Monday I woke up in the best of moods.  I woke up early and finally made it to Crossfit before work.  I completed my hour workout and grabbed a cup of coffee on the way to work, where I changed and got ready for the day.  I had a really good morning and had my meals planned out from the previous day.

However, my day didn’t go exactly as I planned, I ate my sandwich and apples as normal.  Then for snack during my staff meeting, I ate (or drank) my Pumpkin Chia Seed Pudding.  Epic fail about pudding because used almond milk.  A friend at work told me that almond milk doesn’t allow pudding based foods to solidify.  However, I can’t find any articles to help me remedy this situation.  Now it’s more like flavored milk with chia seeds.  Weird, but not revolting.

IMG_2556.JPG

I walked to class and then home that night.  I was still in a good mood, feeling happy and excited about the days to come.  I got home, unwound for a few and my neighbor came over.  We talked about Thanksgiving foods for about an hour.  It made my mouth water and I couldn’t wait (and still can’t).  Oddly enough, this didn’t make me want to eat.  When he left, I drank a cup of tea, ate some mango.

Yesterday, I woke up feeling a little tired, but ready for the day.  Work went well and I think I even ate too little throughout the morning.  The afternoon, I turned down working a club so that I could go to a kettle bell kickboxing class.  Class was tough.  There were only 4 of us, so there was no hiding.  I worked my ass off, sweating like a madman.  I called my mom to talk to her about my plans for the weekend, because no they are more solid than they were at the beginning of the week.  I changed and walked almost 4 miles to go to BarBacon.  While there, I had so much fun.  Many of the people who were signed up for the event were my friends, and we caught up some more.  We had a beer and bacon flight with 4 choices of 5oz. beer and 2 slices of 4 flavors of bacon: Black Pepper, Applewood, Pecan, and Jalepeno.  I drank lots of water while I was there, refused to share tatar tots with the group and didn’t finish my entire flight.  I threw my napkin on top of bacon once I felt even slightly content.

IMG_2537.JPG

 

I got home and usually would have eaten some more, but I was in a hyper good mood, I had some mints instead and hopped in for a shower.

This morning, I woke up at about 6:10, not packed.  Last week when I did this, I turned over and went back to sleep for a half hour.  This morning I got up and raced to get ready by 6:20 so I could make it to Crossfit on time.  I threw on my gym clothes, threw day clothes in my backpack, poured some water and ran out the door.  I made it!  Just in time and it was worth it; it was a vicious workout.  I was sore already today, but in a good way, especially since I gain 1 pound on the scale this morning.  Probably, since the bacon was so salty.  I am still thirsty now, over 15 hours later!

I headed to work for our writing celebration, and cringed when I saw the table of junk food.

IMG_2541.JPG

 

 

I chose decisively that I wanted a rice ball which one of our parents make, and a cocktail pig in a blanket (just one).

IMG_2542.JPG

 

It was so worth it to eat so nicely, I felt better that I didn’t pick at all the crap sitting there and tempting me.  At about 10 minutes into the hour long celebration, I went back to my room for a piece of gum to chew on so that I would want to eat all of the rest of stuff.

The day went on nicely, and at lunch I was hungry.  I had brought a sandwich and pudding, but I wanted to save that, since school lunch looked good today.  I ate some broccoli and a small piece of chicken breast, without the glaze sauce the kitchen puts on top.

IMG_2553.JPG

Then I went to visit the Kindergarten writing celebration and was crossed with even more sweets, and ones more appealing to me.  I resisted, eating 2 clementines and leaving.

IMG_2554.JPG

 

This evening, I’m planning on going out for a drink and then the watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade Balloons.  Then about an hour ago, friends texted that they are going bar hopping tonight.  So I’m saving my sandwich for dinner before I hang out with these peoples.  So far, I have planned and controlled my cravings, but I’m getting nervous.  I can deal with tonight, getting a lot of water and one drink at each bar, pending how many we hit!

However, I still need to think about the rest of this weekend!

fa1100f633ad4b96cb51a0cf4229c498

Tomorrow my mom is cooking and I can’t wait for stuffing and turkey and yams!  But I know I will easily drink a whole bottle of wine if I’m not careful, it is an all day affair in my house.  Then the rest of the weekend we will be together.  Foods I know are in my future:

Thursday: shrimp cocktail, pepperoni and cheese, salsa and chips, turkey, ham, biscuits, yams, rice, veggies in butter sauce, stuffing, wine, ice cream cake and cookies

Friday: French Toast Bake, leftovers for lunch, and white chicken chili and turkey red bean chili with cabbage and toppings (instead of rice), and evening snacks including popcorn, chips and salsa

Saturday: Breakfast Casserole, movie snacks

Sunday: back to my normal routine

I also found while on Pintrest a  post about Thanksgiving Fouls.  It talks about 4 ways diets go out the window on Thanksgiving.  I think that  it has some good advice including selecting 3 appetizers, 1 of which must be a veggies healthy option.  Start small, and take what you want as long as its a small portion, just enough to satisfy your palate.  Playing a game instead of picking on leftovers.

http://news.health.com/2009/11/23/4-thanksgiving-diet-fouls/?crlt.pid=camp.7vbUnNCz9eh4

I know I won’t be able to stick as closely as I would want, but I have high hopes and I just need to keep thinking, “is what I’m going to eat be worth it?”  Most of the times I know it won’t be.  My problem is all mental, knowing I only get these foods once or twice a year.  I need to get over that and only eat till I’m comfortable.  I got this!  It’s all about portion control…. more to come…

 

 

 

 

f400cba037d1d3ba6664fbfe5853c026

 

Leave a comment